نموذج للتنمية المجتمعية بقيادة محلية وطريقة جديدة لتمويل الإبداع الفلسطيني

ما هو صندوق روى؟

مستندا إلى الانخراط المجتمعي وعملية صنع القرار بشكل جماعي، يعتبر صندوق روى نموذجا للتمويل والدعم يهدف إلى انعاش الأمل وبناء الثقة واحترام الكرامة ودعم حلول محلية بديلة ناجعة تخرج من المجتمعات المحلية الفلسطينية نفسها.

في الفترة التجريبية الأولية (2018-2021) يوكل صندوق روى خلال الفترة التجريبية الأولية ومدتها ثلاث سنوات المسؤولية للفلسطينيين لتحديد اولويات التمويل وتخصيص الموارد لصالح التنمية المجتمعية المبتكرة. في لحظات الشدة السياسية غالبا ما تكون المجموعات القاعدية السباقة لقيادة الحشد والحراك المجتمعي ولكنها غالبا ايضا ما تظل على هامش التمويل من خلال العطاء المجتمعي والإحسان. يستحضر صندوق روى اصوات المجتمع الفلسطيني التقدمية ويضعها على طاولة العطاء المجتمعي على المستوى الدولي بينما يعمل في الوقت ذاته على اصلاح نموذج تمويلي معتلّ.

من خلال عمله على المستوى القاعدي (وبينه وبين) العمل المجتمعي والإحسان على المستوى العالمي، يسعى صندوق روى إلى تحفيز عمليات تفكير جديد حول افضل الطرق لدعم عمليات تحديد الموارد والاستثمارات الاجتماعية التي تتمتع بانها عضوية وفعالة ويحددها المجتمع المحلي. ومن خلال استخدام العطاء المجتمعي الدولي والمجموعات المحلية كروافع وتعزيز تأثيرها يعزز صندوق روى الانخراط المدني ويمول حلول ابداعية ويرفع من مستوى رأس المال الاجتماعي في التجمعات المحلية وعلى مستوى المنظمات القاعدية في كافة ارجاء فلسطين.

. ويتوقع صندوق روى ان يوفر الدعم إلى ما مجموعه 60-90 مشروعا خلال الفترة التجريبية الأولية من خلال منح تتراوح في قيمتها وبسقف اعلى قيمته 35,000 دولار.

 

خلفية تاريخية

حتى يومنا هذا شارك المئات من الأشخاص في تحديد ملامح هذه المبادرة الفريدة من نوعها من خلال المساهمة بوقتهم وخبراتهم ومشورتهم وأفكارهم ورؤيتهم وتضامنهم.
في تشرين الأول من العام 2014، حضر حوالي 25 شخصا من المختصين في مجال العطاء المجتمعي والتنمية من فلسطين وأوروبا والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية اجتماعا في نيويورك لمناقشة الحاجة إلى هذه المبادرة ومعاييرها الأولية وقاموا بتأسيس مجموعة عمل تهدف إلى توجيه النشاطات واحراز التقدم بهذا الصدد. وقد كانت النتائج داعمة ومنتجة بشكل لافت وطاغ واوجدت تفويضا لتأسيس صندوق شمولي بشكل مطلق وراديكالي ويتمتع بالانفتاح يقدر ويحشد الابداع الفلسطيني. لقراءة التقرير

وفي ربيع العام 2015، عقد صندوق روى مشاورات في القدس ومخيم عايدة للاجئين (بيت لحم) وغزة والناصرة ورام الله حضرها العشرات من القيادات المجتمعية والناشطين الفلسطينيين. وقضى اكثر من 60 شخصا يعملون بشكل وثيق مع التجمعات المحلية على الأرض يوما كاملا في التفكير باحتياجات قائمة وملحة، تجارب تمويلية، وعن رغبتهم في وجود منصة جديدة من الدعم لعملهم. وقد استكشفنا سوي امكانية اللجوء إلى إعطاء منح كعملية ابداعية وتنموية تمتلك إمكانية تحويل القوة والموارد للقيادات المحلية وللمبادرات التي غالبا ما يتم تجاهلها كما تم مناقشة عدة نماذج لتوزيع الموارد والتي يمكن ان تكون ملائمة بحيث يتبناها الصندوق. وقد تم عقد الاجتماعات بدعم فني واستضافة من قبل مؤسسة القطان ومركز تطوير المؤسسات الأهلية ومؤسسة دالية وجمعية الشبان المسيحيين والفنيق ومركز شباب عايدة ومؤسسة المعمل واتحاد الأكاديميين العرب. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك قام فريق التنسيق بمقابلة 50 ناشطا وقائدا محليا. لقراءة التقرير

وعلى مدى العامين 2015 و2016 قام صندوق روى بتيسير اجتماعات مع مشاركين تم اختيارهم من المجتمع المحلي في كل من القدس والضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة وفلسطين 48/اسرائيل شكلوا شبكة متينة واساسا لسلسلة من ورشات العمل وخلوات العمل وانشأوا اللجان المجتمعية الأولى لصندوق روى- والتي تشكل جوهر هذا النموذج التمويلي التشاركي الجديد. وقد شاركنا كذلك في مجموعات عمل ومؤتمرات في اوروبا والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية للتعلم من والمساهمة في حركة تنمو بشكل مضطرد والتي تناقش وتستكشف وتجرب نماذج لإعطاء المنح بالتشارك.

في العام 2016، قام الصندوق بالتعاقد مع نانسي سميث لإنتاج تقرير الجدوى لتقييم الجدوى المالية العامة للصندوق ولتكون مصدر معلومات يساعد في عملية اتخاذ قرارات في المرحلة المبكرة من تطوير الصندوق. وقد استندت عملية التقييم على البحث المكتبي بالإضافة إلى مقابلات شاملة مع 24 خبيرا في مجال العطاء المجتمعي والبرامج من اميركا الشمالية واوروبا والشرق الأوسط وافريقيا.
وقد حصل الصندوق خلال مرحلة التخطيط والاستكشاف هذه بالدعم من مؤسسة الأخوة روكفلر ومؤسسة المجتمع المفتوح وائتلاف اطفال الشرق الأوسط (الراعي المالي) والصندوق العالمي للمؤسسات المجتمعية ومؤسسة المعمل ومؤسسة فورد.

 

لماذا نحتاج لصندوق روى الآن؟ 

ومن الضروري الآن واكثر من اي وقت مضى تقديم الدعم لمجموعة محلية قاعدية ومنظمات مجتمع مدني التي تشكل الأساس والقاعدة بالنسبة للمجتمع الفلسطيني.

ومنذ سنوات التسعينيات عمد تدفق المساعدات الدولية إلى فلسطين وبشكل كبير إلى التركيز وإعطاء الأولوية للمساعدات الطارئة والإغاثة الإنسانية مما اوجد نوع من الاعتمادية على المساعدات. ومع مرور الوقت ادت العمليات التي اصحبت اكثر بيروقراطية بشكل متزايد وتستند بالإساس على عمليات القياس إلى تحويل الموارد بعيدا عن الحلول البديلة والتي تأتي من المجتمع المحلي للمشاكل التي سببتها عقود من الاحتلال والتمييز البنيوي. وقد تناقصت الموارد التي تخصصها المؤسسات لفلسطين خصوصا مع تصاعد حدة الأولويات الإقليمية الأخرى والإرهاق الذي بدا يسوء في اوساط المانحين أمام حالة تبدو مستعصية على ارض الواقع.

وفي هذا السياق، تواجه المجموعات القاعدية- الأعمدة التقليدية للمجتمع الفلسطيني- خطر خسارة ما تبقى لها من ارضية عمل حاليا وإن كان هناك امل لتنجو هذه المجموعات من هذا الخطر تحتاج دعما طارئا وبسيطا ومرنا حتى تمضي باتجاه تقرير المصير وتعزز الصمود على المستوى المحلي. وحيث ان الدعم الدولي قد حجب إلى درجة كبيرة عمليات حل المشاكل بطريقة ابداعية على المستوى الجماعي المحلي، فإن صندوق روى، إلى جانب حركة متنامية من المختصين في مجال العطاء المجتمعي والأشخاص المهتمين بنماذج التمويل والمساعدات يعتقدون أن الوقت قد حان لتجربة مقاربة جديدة.

نحو مجتمع فلسطيني نابض بالحياة وقادر على تقرير مصيره يتمتع بالاكتفاء الذاتي ويتميز بالانفتاح

رؤيتنا وقيمنا

يدعم نموذج التمويل التشاركي الذي يتبناه صندوق روى التنمية المجتمعية الفلسطينية المبدعة ويلهم نشوء ثقافة جديدة من الدعم الدولي وحشد الموارد المحلية.

ان وجود شبكة تمتاز بالتنوع وتتوسع باضطراد يعزز نموذج صندوق روى العالي التشاركية والقائم على اساس المجتمع المحلي.

من نحن

تم إطلاق صندوق روى من قبل مجموعة من الخبراء والمهنيين في مجال التنمية المجتمعية والعطاء المجتمعي القائم على اساس العدالة الاجتماعية ممن يتمتعون بعقود من الخبرة في تنمية المجتمع المدني الفلسطيني. وقد تم تطويره على شكل نموذج عمل تجريبي من خلال التشاور مع العيد من قادة المجتمع المحليين والنشطاء وموظفي المؤسسات الأهلية وغيرهم على الأرض من مناطق مختلفة في فلسطين. وقد نجحت المبادرة في تأمين شبكة من الأصدقاء والزملاء والمستشارين في فلسطين واوروبا والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية الذين قدموا النصح والدعم والقيادة.

يحرص صندوق روى اليوم على هيكلية إدارة وحوكمة تمتاز بالشفافية

 

Governance Structure

 

ولمعرفة المزيد حول الفريق الحالي واللجنة الاستشارية واعضاء اللجان المجتمعية والراعيين الماليين والأصدقاء، يمكن الرجوع إلى صفحة الشبكة  الخاصة بصندوق روى.

 

تمويل صندوق روى

سياسة التمويل

قام فريق روى واعضاء اللجان المجتمعية سويا بتطوير مجموعة من الإرشادات العامة الخاصة بسياسة التمويل لضمان بقاء الصندوق امينا لرسالته بما في ذلك أهداف متعلقة بتنوع مصادر التمويل (عدم قبول ان يأتي اكثر من 25% من التمويل من مانح واحد) والقضايا السياسية والأخلاقية (لن نقبل تمويلا يأتي مع ضغوطات سياسية او يقوض الحقوق الفلسطينية). 

 

الموازنة والأمور المالية

انطلاقا من الالتزام بالشفافية والمحاسبة، سيقوم صندوق روى بنشر موازنته وبياناته المالية هنا. لا تترددوا بالاتصال بنا في حال وجود اسئلة او كنتم بحاجة لمزيد من المعلومات حول كيفية تخصيصنا للأموال. 

الموازنة المتوقعة لصندوق روى على مدى السنوات الثلاثة الأولى خلال المرحلة التجريبية بما في ذلك المنح المقدمة للتجمعات المحلية خلال كل سنة مالية هي مبينة أدناه. 

Rawa Projected 3-Year Budget

 

نفقات صندوق روى خلال مرحلة التطوير من كانون الثاني 2015 حتى كانون الأول من العام 2016 هي مبينة أدناه

 

الممولين

يشكر صندوق روى المانحين التالية اسماؤهم عن الدعم الحالي و/ او السابق:

Rockefeller Brother’s Fund

Open Society Foundation

Middle East Children’s Alliance

Global Fund for Community Foundations

Ford Foundation

MK

A locally-led model of community development, and a new way to fund Palestinian creativity.

What is Rawa?

Rooted in collective community decision-making, Rawa is a funding and support model that aims to raise hope, build trust and dignity, and promote successful alternative local solutions generated by Palestinian communities.

In an initial three-year pilot (2018-2021), Rawa’s model entrusts local people to set funding priorities and allocate resources for innovative community development. In moments of political urgency, grassroots groups are the first to lead community mobilization, but are too often at the margins of philanthropy. Rawa brings progressive Palestinian community voices to the international philanthropy table, while at the same time working to fix a broken funding model.

Working in (and between) local grassroots activism and international philanthropy, Rawa aims to incite new thinking on how best to foster organic, effective, and community-determined resource allocation and social investment. Leveraging and amplifying the impact of international philanthropy and community groups, Rawa fuels civic engagement, funds creative solutions, and raises social capital among communities and grassroots organizations across Palestine.

 

History

To date, hundreds of people have come together to shape this unique initiative with their time, expertise, advice, ideas, vision, and solidarity.

In October, 2014, two dozen philanthropy and development professionals from Palestine, Europe, and the US attended a convening in New York to discuss the need for the initiative and its initial parameters, establishing a working group to help steer activities and progress. The results were overwhelmingly supportive and productive, creating a mandate for a radically inclusive and open fund that values and mobilizes Palestinian creativity. Read the report.

In the spring of 2015, Rawa held consultations in Jerusalem, Aida Refugee Camp in Bethlehem, Gaza, Nazareth, and Ramallah with several dozen Palestinian community leaders and activists. Over 60 individuals working closely with communities on the ground spent a day in reflection about urgent and ongoing needs, funding experiences, and their desire for a new platform of support for their work. We explored the potential of grantmaking as a creative and developmental process with the potential to devolve power and resources to local leadership and often ignored initiatives, and examined various models of resource distribution that might be suitable for Rawa to adopt. Meetings were convened with the technical and hosting support of A.M. Qattan Foundation, NGO Development Center, Dalia Association, YWCA, Al Feniq, Aida Youth Center, Al Maamal Foundation and the Arab Academic Union. An additional 50 local activists and community leaders were interviewed by the Coordination team. Read the report.

Throughout 2015 and 2016, Rawa facilitated meetings with recruited community participants based in Jerusalem, West Bank, Gaza, and ‘48/Israel, establishing a strong network and foundation for a series of workshops and retreats and forming Rawa’s first Community Clusters—the heart of this novel participatory funding model. We also participated in working groups and conferences in Europe and the US to learn from and contribute to a growing movement from the grassroots to large philanthropies increasingly exploring and championing  participatory grant making.

In 2016 Rawa commissioned a feasibilty report, produced by Nancy Smith, to assess the general financial viability of the Fund and inform the early decision-making process in the Fund’s development stage. The scan was based on desk research as well as comprehensive interviews with 24 philanthropy and program experts from North America, Europe, the Middle East, and Africa.

Rawa’s planning and exploration period has been supported in part by Rockefeller Brothers Fund, The Open Society Foundations, The Middle East Children’s Alliance (our fiscal sponsor), Global Fund for Community Foundations, Al-Maamal Foundation, and the Ford Foundation.

 

Why Rawa Now?

Today more than ever, it is critical to support the community-based and civil society groups that form the bedrock of Palestinian society. 

Since the 1990s, an influx of international aid in Palestine has largely prioritized emergency and humanitarian relief, creating aid dependency. At the same time, increasingly bureaucratic and measurement-driven processes have shifted resources away from alternative, community-owned solutions to the problems caused by decades of occupation and structural discrimination. Foundation resources allocated to Palestine have shrunk, particularly as other regional priorities have intensified, and donor fatigue has worsened in the face of a seemingly intractable situation on the ground.

Grassroots groups—the traditional pillars of Palestinian society—risk losing the tenuous ground they currently have; if they are to survive, they need urgent, simple, flexible support to move toward self-determination and steadfastness at the local level. Since international aid has largely blocked creative problem-solving at the local collective level, Rawa, along with a growing movement in philanthropy and amongst communities concerned about aid models, believes it is time to try a new approach.

Toward a vibrant, self-determined, self-sustaining, and open Palestinian society.

Vision and Values

Rawa’s participatory funding model supports creative Palestinian community development and inspires a new culture of international aid and local resource mobilization.

 

Vision and Values

An expansive and diverse network fuels Rawa’s intensely participatory and community-based model. 

Who We Are

Rawa was initiated by a group of independent community development and social justice philanthropy professionals with decades of experience in Palestinian civil society development. It was developed into a working pilot model through consultation with dozens of local community-based leaders, activists, NGO staff members, and others on the ground in diverse parts of Palestine. The initiative has garnered a network of friends, colleagues and advisors in Palestine, Europe, and the US who have been providing advice, assistance, and leadership. 

Today, Rawa maintains a transparent management and governance structure:

 

Governance Structure

 

To learn more about our current Team,  Advisory Committee, Community Cluster members, Fiscal Sponsors, and Friends, see our Network page.

Our Funding

Funding Policy 

The Rawa Team and Community Cluster members together developed a set of funding policy guidelines to ensure Rawa remains true to its mission, including targets for funding diversity (no more than 25% of funding should come from one donor) and political and ethical concerns (we will not accept funding that comes with political pressure or undermines Palestinian rights).

 

Budget and Financials 

Dedicated to transparency and accountability, Rawa will share budget and financial information here. Contact us with questions or more information about how we allocate funds. 

Rawa's expected budget for the three-year pilot period, including grants to communities for each fiscal year, appears below.

 

Rawa Projected 3-Year Budget

 

Rawa's expenses during its development phase, from January 2015 to December 2016, appears below. 

 

Rawa's Expenses During its Development Phase

Our Funders

Rawa thanks the following generous donors for current and/or past support: 

Rockefeller Brother’s Fund

Open Society Foundation

Middle East Children’s Alliance

Global Fund for Community Foundations

Ford Foundation